The Missouri Community College Association (MCCA) has recognized two State Fair Community College students and an instructor for academic excellence. The three were honored April 8 in Holts Summit.

Students Serena Smith, Sedalia, and Amollie Stoermer, Mora, were named to MCCA’s All-Missouri Academic Team. Each student received a scholarship made possible by a donation from MOHELA, the state’s not-for-profit secondary market lender and servicer in the student loan industry.

Smith, a sophomore Criminal Justice major, has a cumulative GPA of 3.63. She is married with three children and is a member of the Alpha Lambda Omega chapter of Phi Theta Kappa honor society. Upon graduation from SFCC, Smith plans to major in Anthropology at the University of Central Missouri.

Stoermer plans to graduate in May with an Associate of Arts degree. She has served as both the president and historian of the Alpha Lambda Omega chapter of Phi Theta Kappa honor society. She also is actively involved in the music and theatre departments, having been cast in shows such as “The Nerd” and “Afterlife: A Ghost Story.” She plans to attend Truman State University in the fall to pursue a career in law.

Randy Crawshaw, English Composition, Literature and Living Religions instructor, received the Governor’s Award for Excellence in Teaching. The award is given to the top community college teachers in the state each year and includes a proclamation from Missouri Governor Jay Nixon.

Crawshaw has taught at SFCC for 19 years was named 2013-2014 instructor of the year. He has served on numerous college committees such as retention, curriculum, institutional effectiveness, distance learning, and assessment. He has also served as a sponsor for student organizations such as Phi Theta Kappa and Campus Fellowship.

MCCA is a statewide organization through which Missouri’s community colleges work together to advance common agendas. MCCA provides advocacy, education, information, and networking opportunities in service of the state’s 5,700 community college faculty, staff, administrators, and trustees.

(Courtesy of SFCC Marketing Department)