Johnson County, MO voters turned out in large numbers Tuesday, for the 2016 General Election.

Johnson County, and the 11 Voting Precincts that comprise it, saw over 75% voter turn out. According to Johnson County Clerk, Diane Thompson, the turn out was expected to be higher than usual, and remained consistent with most of the country.

Johnson County voted overwhelming in favor of Donald Trump. The Trump/Pence ticket saw 64% of votes in favor to the Clinton/Kaine ticket, with about 28%.

Johnson County voters supported Roy Blunt for Senator, with 55%, to Jason Kander's 39%.

Republican nominee for governor, Eric Grietens came out on top with 57% to Democrat Chris Koster's, 39%.

Republican Denny Hoskins received 70% of the vote for State Senator in District 21. The next closest opponent was Democrat Eigene Ver Dught, came in with 24%.

Nathan Beard won over Kyle Garner, with 66% to 30%, respectively.

State Representative for District 51 went to Republican Dean Dohrman with 67% of the vote, over challenger John Cozart, with 33%.

State Representative for District 54 went to Republican Dan Houx with 65%, to Democrat Bob Gregory with 28%.

The office for Johnson County Eastern Commissioner, went in favor of Republican John Marr with 63%. Democrat Robert D. Simmons received 37% of the vote.

Johnson County Western Commissioner went to Republican Charles Kavanaugh.

Statewide Amendment included amendments 1, 2, 3, 4, and 6.

Voters in Johnson County approved Amendments 1, 2, 4, and 6. Amendment 3 was shot down.

Proposition A, received a 56% NO vote, to 44% YES vote.

Candidates for all other county offices, were unopposed.

Kurt Parsons