If you're a fan of documentaries you know who Ken Burns is. He's the man that's made many critically acclaimed documentaries including "The Civil War", "Baseball" and "The Vietnam War". This fall his new documentary, "Country Music", sets out to tell the story of one of America's most popular music genres.

Burns will explore country "from its deep and tangled roots in ballads, blues and hymns performed in small settings, to its worldwide popularity, learn how country music evolved over the course of the 20th century, as it eventually emerged to become America’s music."

Additionally the film promises us never before seen photographs and interviews with over 80 artists, and biographies on many of country music's movers and shakers including The Carter Family, Hank Williams, Patsy Cline, Johnny Cash, Mere Haggard, Loretta Lynn, Garth Brooks and more. If you want to learn more about the film you can click here.

"Country Music" is no small documentary either. It's sixteen hours long and will be shown on KMOS Television over the course of two weeks at 7:00PM with the premiere of the documentary on Sunday Night September 15. Here's the prime time broadcast schedule for the film:

  • Sunday September 15, 7:00PM
  • Monday September 16, 7:00PM
  • Tuesday September 17, 7:00PM
  • Wednesday September 18, 7:00PM
  • Sunday September 22, 7:00PM
  • Monday September 23, 7:00PM
  • Tuesday September 24 7:00PM
  • Wednesday September 25 7:00PM

If you can't wait to see "Country Music" a film by Ken Burns, KMOS is hosting two preview screenings of the documentary. One in Sedalia at the Liberty Center on Thursday August 29 at 7:00PM CDT. And one in Warrensburg at the Twomey Auditorium Wood Building on Thursday September 12 at 7:00PM CDT. Beau Matthews from KIX 105.7 will be the evening's emcee!

Tickets to either screening are free courtesy of KMOS but they're asking that you RSVP here if you'd like to attend. We'd like to see you there!