President Barack Obama has approved a major disaster declaration for 33 Missouri counties damaged by severe weather and flooding in late December and early January.

The declaration makes assistance programs available to eligible residents for such things as temporary housing and repairs or losses caused by the flooding. Residents are encouraged to document any losses caused by the storms.

The unusual late-year flooding left 16 people dead and significantly damaged nearly 1,000 homes.

Gov. Jay Nixon asked the president for the declaration Jan. 15.

The counties eligible under the program are Barry, Barton, Camden, Cape Girardeau, Cole, Crawford, Franklin, Gasconade, Greene, Hickory, Jasper, Jefferson, Laclede, Lawrence, Lincoln, Maries, McDonald, Morgan, Newton, Osage, Phelps, Polk, Pulaski, Scott, St. Charles, St. Francois, St. Louis, Ste. Genevieve, Stone, Taney, Texas, Webster and Wright.

Michael B. Thomas, Getty Images
Michael B. Thomas, Getty Images

More From AM 1050 KSIS