The State Fair Community College Foundation’s March 25 “Saturday Night Fever” raised $58,000 for the college’s technical education facility and programs.

There were 320 tickets sold for the event that was held in the Fred E. Davis Multipurpose Center on the Sedalia campus.


The foundation will use the proceeds from the fundraising evening of dining, Lip Sync Battles, Dessert Dash, and live auction to support the college’s goal to build a technical education facility, renovate existing facilities and add technical programs that will meet workforce demand.

“The foundation board was very happy to host this special evening that many people look forward to attending,” said Mary K. Treuner, executive director of the SFCC Foundation. “The Dessert Dash, which was a new feature this year, raised a little more than $13,000, and we’re so grateful for those who donated desserts and auction items, the lip sync teams, the Nursing Club members who served food, and other volunteers who made it a fun event. The community’s generosity and support for the college is remarkable."

Jeremy Garber was the auctioneer, and Dr. Joe Gilgour, dean of Student Support and Academic Services was the master of ceremonies.

Four lip sync teams that included community members and SFCC faculty and staff competed for the Lip Sync Champion and People’s Choice trophies.

Team one members were Dr. Rhonda Hutton Gann, Dr. Kevin Lawson, Jennifer Norton, Melinda Strange, Alice Townsend, and April Young representing SFCC’s allied health programs. Team two members were Ryan Martin and Joren Trimble from SFCC Student Life. Team three members were Josh Bruns, Kelsey Carroll, Lynsie Carroll, Cesar Marin and Andy Schulze from Bryant Motors of Sedalia. Team four members were Rochell Hockett, Amy Jackson, JoLynn Turley, Sam Webb, and Gary Willis from SFCC’s The LearningForce. The team from Bryant Motors won both trophies.

The 2016 Lip Sync champions, who also won both trophies at last year’s competition, performed and dedicated their routine in memory of Troy Holbrook, Automotive Technology program coordinator and instructor. Members were John Burns, Tammy Hamilton, Mark Kelchner, Eric Rehmer, Richard Vanderweide, and Justin Wright representing the technical education program.

A photo gallery and videos of the evening may be viewed on the State Fair Community College Facebook page at

More From AM 1050 KSIS