Smith-Cotton JROTC Cadet Draiven Short was recognized during the May 20 Sedalia School District 200 Board of Education meeting as a recipient of the Legion of Valor Bronze Cross for Outstanding Achievement Award, the highest honor available for JROTC cadets.

At right is Board President Diana Nichols. Col. Joey Sullinger, left, an Army JROTC instructor at S-C, said only 50 cadets out of about 500,000 nationwide earned the honor this year. Cadets are selected based on their academic record, class standing and leadership, among other criteria.

Short is the latest in a long line of S-C JROTC cadets to earn the honor, including Leia Goodwin, Brittany Bobbitt, Ericka Tackett, Laura Haney, Krysta Ott, Hannah Ott, Caitlyn Craig, Paul Chernookiy, Jordan Bush, Alexandria Stewart, Aurora Raphael, Shelbi Davis and Nikkole Warren.

More From AM 1050 KSIS