Confusing? Not Really. Milk That’s Not Milk Is Ok To Be Called Milk Says The FDA
The Food and Drug Administration has released some federal draft rules that will allow producers of soy, oat, almond, and other drinks that bill themselves as milk, to keep using the descriptor.
This is according to a report on the KAIT 8 website. As surprising as this may sound it makes a lot of sense to me.
The FDA argues that producers of soy milk, oat milk, or almond milk can continue to use the term milk because these products don't pretend to be from dairy animals and consumers aren't confused by the use of the term. It makes sense too.
The attraction of these products for consumers is simply, enjoying a dairy-like product that isn't dairy at all. The fact is that it's like traditional milk without the digestive problems of cow's milk that some folks experience is a major selling benefit for some people. So yeah, I'd say consumers aren't confused by it, and producers of the dairy alternative are quite OK by touting that their milk isn't dairy.
Of course, the traditional dairy industry in Wisconsin and California, and anywhere else cows graze and give milk isn't happy about it. They've tried for years to get the FDA to crack down on plant-based milk producers because they think it clouds the real meaning of milk.
I think milk is pretty much anything liquid that you can pour into a bowl of cereal that has a similar consistency and taste. The FDA believes most Americans believe the same thing. That's as refreshing as an ice-cold glass of chocolate cow's milk, I'm not a fan of the plant-based stuff.