Johnson County 4-H recently competed for the opportunity to advance to the state level in various events.

The contests were held at the Johnson County Fairgrounds in late June and included Public Speaking, Fashion Revue, and Demonstrations.

4-H members in the Public Speaking contest competed to represent Johnson County at the state competition to be held September 30. There are 6 members of the 4-H that will advance.  The Prepared Speech Junior Division winner is Matthew Tye and the Intermediate Division winner is Reagan Vance.

The member advancing for Intermediate Division Technology is Rebekha Papasifakis, while the Extemporaneous Junior Division winner is to advance is Brinlea Rhyne. The Intermediate Division winner for Extemp is Reagan Vance, and in the Extemp Senior Division is Shea Fitzgerald.

Shane Carroll was selected as the alternate for senior extemp speeches, and 'Clover Kid' Mallory Hall also performed an extemp speech.

Several local members were also selected to perform their demonstrations at the Missouri State Fair in August. Johnson County 4-H will be represented at the MO State Fair by Rebekha Papasifakis, Marlys Kanneman, Ally McCormack, Brinlea Rhyne, and Brock Krewson. According to a press release from the Johnson County 4-H, all of these members will perform at various times throughout the fair, in the 4-H Building.

Also, a number of 4-H members competed in the Fashion Revue contest. Those winners will advance to the state level competition, in Columbia on October 7.

The winner in the junior division is Brinlea Rhyne, with alternate Ally McCormack. The intermediate division winner is Rebekha Papasifakis, and the senior division winner is Charli Rhyne.

Shea Fitzgerald won in the 'Clothing Selection Senior Division, with Karah Heater as the alternate.

The press release says that the Johnson 4-H was able to give out $25 gift cards to the top exhibitors in each of the areas, thanks to a donation from Monsanto via Dale and Luci Smith.

The recipients for this year include, Brock Krewson, Rebekha Papasifakis, Reagan Vance, Brinlea Rhyne, Shea Fitzgerald, and Charli Rhyne.

For more information about Johnson County 4-H, call 660-747-3193.

Missouri State Fair
Kurt Parsons

More From AM 1050 KSIS