The Missouri Community College Association (MCCA) celebrated Missouri’s finest college students April 25 at a luncheon held in Jefferson City.

MCCA recognized student leaders and Missouri's Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) All-Missouri Academic Team and Workforce Scholars.

Among the students recognized were State Fair Community College’s Noel Jerrell of Lincoln, Grant Clayton of Jefferson City and Keegan Sinclair of Versailles.

Jerrell received the Student Leadership award. He served as the 2016-2017 PTK Alpha Lambda Omega chapter president and participated in SFCC’s federally funded TRiO program. Jerrell is graduating from SFCC this month and has been accepted into University of Missouri’s Honors College on a full scholarship. He will major in Political Science.

Each college selected the leadership recipients based on the students’ exemplary status on and off campus. Recipients received a medallion.

Clayton and Sinclair were named PTK All-Missouri Academic third team.

Clayton is a PTK member, Student Government Association president and a residence hall assistant. He graduates from SFCC this month and plans to pursue a degree in higher education administration at William Woods University.

Sinclair is a PTK member and Sociology major. He completed his coursework in December and plans to attend a four-year college or university.

The Phi Theta Kappa headquarters selected the All-Missouri Academic Team recipients based on criteria such as grade point average, involvement in the community and leadership roles. These students received a medallion.

Dr. Joanna Anderson, SFCC president; Dr. Brent Bates, Educational and Student Support Services vice president; Dr. Joe Gilgour, Academic and Student Support Services dean; Sonya Bowman, TRiO director; Lindy Johnson, TRiO Student Success coach; and Michael Davis, PTK advisor and History instructor attended the awards luncheon.

MCCA is a statewide organization through which Missouri’s community colleges work together to advance common agendas. MCCA provides advocacy, education, information, and networking opportunities in service of the state’s 5,700 community college faculty, staff, administrators, and trustees.

In the photo: The Missouri Community College Association honored three SFCC students at an awards luncheon April 25 in Jefferson City. From left, Keegan Sinclair, Grant Clayton and Noel Jerrell.


More From AM 1050 KSIS