Sedalia School District 200 Board of Education President Diana Nichols, left, presents Smith-Cotton JROTC Cadet Leia Goodwin with the Legion of Valor Bronze Cross for Outstanding Achievement Award, the highest honor available for JROTC cadets, during the board's Sept. 13 meeting in the Heckart Performing Arts Center.

1SG Chad Supanich, an Army JROTC instructor at S-C, said typically one Legion of Valor honor is awarded for every 100 schools with JROTC programs; only 60 to 65 cadets are honored each year nationwide.

Cadets are selected based on their academic record, class standing and leadership, among other criteria.

Goodwin is the latest in a long line of S-C JROTC cadets to earn the honor, including Brittany Bobbitt, Ericka Tackett, Laura Haney, Krysta Ott, Hannah Ott, Caitlyn Craig, Paul Chernookiy, Jordan Bush, Alexandria Stewart, Aurora Raphael, Shelbi Davis and Nikkole Warren.

More From AM 1050 KSIS