State Fair Community College has announced the Lisa Shoemaker Distinguished Student Writer awards for 2016-2017.


The top three winners are Paige Newton, Smithton, first place; Regan Downing, California, second place; and Abby Brauer, Camdenton, third place. They received plaques at a ceremony May 3 on the Sedalia campus.

Other top 10 finalists included Caitlyn McQueen, Smithton; Nik Clifton, Cole Camp; Emma Greer, Hughesville; Chloie Freeman, Camdenton; Daphne Dinsdale, Camdenton; Luna La Belle, Centerview; and Sarah Stow, Warrensburg.

English Composition I and II and Literature instructors nominated student papers from the hundreds submitted in their fall 2016 and spring 2017 sections. SFCC faculty and staff independently selected and ranked the top 10 essays.

The writing awards are named in honor of Lisa Shoemaker, former English instructor and literature coordinator who retired in 2015 after teaching nearly 36 years at SFCC.

Anne Homan is SFCC’s Communication Studies and Wellness division chair.


In the photo: SFCC honored the top 10 writing students for 2016-2017 at a ceremony May 3 on the Sedalia campus. The top three students received plaques and special recognition. Award winners were, from left, Regan Downing and Paige Newton. Not pictured is Abby Brauer, who was honored but unable to attend.

More From AM 1050 KSIS