State Fair Community College celebrated 53 Health Sciences students with a commencement, pinning ceremony and awards on Dec. 13 at the Fred E. Davis Multipurpose Center on the Sedalia campus.

Twenty-five students received their Associate of Applied Science in Nursing (RN) degrees and 26 received Professional Certificates in Practical Nursing (LPN). These graduates attended classes on the Eldon and Sedalia campuses. Two students received their Associate of Applied Science in Health Information Technology.

Amber Taylor of Warrensburg and Holland Ross of Jefferson City were recognized as recipients of SFCC’s Practical Nursing Excellence Awards. Jolynn Johnson of Eldon and Maya Farr of Warrensburg were recognized as recipients of SFCC’s Associate Degree Nursing Excellence Awards.

Kathy Newell-Lewis, an alumna of SFCC, delivered the commencement address to the graduates. Newell-Lewis graduated from SFCC in 1995 with her Associate of Applied Science in Nursing degree and went on to earn a bachelor’s in nursing and a master’s degree. She is currently pursuing a doctorate in healthcare administration. Since 2015 she has worked as a travel nurse in Georgia, Kentucky, Arkansas, and Missouri where she is now at Mercy Hospital in Springfield.

“So, 26 years ago, I sat in a chair awaiting my commencement from this very campus,” said Newell-Lewis to the graduates. “SFCC has and always will have a special place in my heart. This college not only gave me a chance, but it also instilled in me the art of nursing … Take what you have learned and do something remarkable … your future begins today.”


In the photos:

State Fair Community College held its Health Sciences commencement and pinning ceremony Dec. 13 on the Sedalia campus. Fifty-three students received either an Associate Degree Nursing, Practical Nursing or Health Information Technology degrees or certificates.  

On the platform, from left, were Board of Trustee Tim Carr, Board of Trustee President Randall D. Eaton, SFCC President Dr. Joanna Anderson, Commencement Speaker Kathy Newell-Lewis, and Dean of Health Sciences Dr. Rhonda Hutton Gann.  

From left, Board of Trustee Tim Carr and President Dr. Joanna Anderson congratulate and present diplomas to students while Dean Dr. Rhonda Hutton Gann and nursing faculty perform the pinning ceremony on the right.  


More From AM 1050 KSIS