State Fair Community College bestowed emeritus status to 10 former members of the SFCC Board of Trustees on Sunday, Nov. 14, in the Thompson Conference Center on the Sedalia campus.  

The ceremony, emceed by SFCC President Joanna Anderson, recognized the exemplary service of Robert Farrington, Jerry Greer, Gary Noland, Judy Parkhurst, Ron Wineinger, and bestowed posthumous recognition on Duane Brodersen, Kenneth Brown, Robert Hoskins, Donald Proctor, and Geraldine Schrader

Duane Brodersen served two terms as an SFCC Trustee from 1990-2002. Prior to his terms at SFCC, Brodersen had a 31-year career in public education. He taught industrial arts, coached multiple sports, was principal in the Bunceton School District, and served as superintendent in both Lowry City and at Benton County R-II in Lincoln.

Kenneth Brown served as a Trustee from 1998-2010. During Brown’s service SFCC opened its new Residence Hall and celebrated the construction of the Fred E. Davis Multipurpose Center, the Daum Museum of Contemporary Art, and the Heckart Science and Allied Health Center. As a former industrial arts teacher and businessman in Warsaw, he recognized and valued higher education.

Robert Farrington served from 1984-1998. He devoted 33 years to the Cole Camp School District as a coach and educator and knew the importance of higher education and SFCC in particular. He was part of a team of community members that supported the junior college district that created SFCC.

“Success is taking advantage of opportunities,” said Farrington. “SFCC provides opportunities, and the family like atmosphere and dedication of its staff motivates students to achieve. My association with SFCC goes back 54 years to its humble beginnings. My time on the board is one of the most rewarding experiences of my life.”

Jerry Greer served twice as an SFCC Trustee from 1994-2012 and 2014-2020. In addition to 24 years of service on the board, Greer started as a counselor at SFCC in 1969 and has had the pleasure of working with each of the college’s five presidents. Greer is still active on campus, where he offers directions, encouragement and bottled water to SFCC students at the beginning of fall classes.

Robert “Bob” Hoskins served SFCC from 1988-2006. As a Trustee, Hoskins saw the demolition of Plywood U, construction of the Stauffacher Center for the Fine and Performing Arts, dedication of the Potter-Ewing Agriculture Building, the opening of the Fred E. Davis Multipurpose Center, construction of the Daum Museum of Contemporary Art, and construction of the Heckart Science and Allied Health Center. He was a strong supporter of SFCC Athletics and faithful Booster Club member.

Gary Noland served as Trustee from 2004-2016. Noland was the Board of Trustees President from 2008-2016. During his service, Noland saw the construction of the Heckart Science and Allied Health Center. Prior to his serving on the board, he worked at SFCC from 1984 to 2001 where he taught mid-management courses, was the Institutional Job Placement Director and later became the Area Vocational-Technical School Director.

“As time passed, I watched SFCC transform from a single plywood building to a beautiful campus affording opportunities for students to transfer directly to the workforce or to further their education at nearby universities,” said Noland. “What a wonderful way to spend 44 years of my life.”

Judy Parkhurst was a Trustee for SFCC from 2006-2018. Prior to her role as a Trustee, Parkhurst served 17 years on the SFCC Foundation Board. She and husband Richard were honored with the naming of the Parkhurst Student Commons in the Stauffacher Center for their contributions and were recognized nationally by the Council for Resource Development and the Missouri Community College Association’s Award of Distinction.


“I feel very fortunate that the Board has always worked together for the best interests of the students we serve,” said Parkhurst. “All of our success and accomplishments are shared by the entire board, not just one person.”


Donald Proctor, M.D., served from 1966-2002. During his 36-year tenure, the longest of any trustee, the college grew steadily from an idea into Plywood U and 42 students in the first graduation class. Dr. Proctor spearheaded many campus additions and investments including the purchase of 113 adjacent acres, the Area Vocational-Technical School, annexation of the Otterville School District, and SFCC’s first national accreditation. In total, 11 campus buildings were constructed without a tax bond. The SFCC library in Yeater Learning Center was named in his honor in 2002.


Geraldine Schrader was a pioneer for SFCC, serving as the first female member from 1982-1994. Schrader was also the first former employee to serve as Trustee. Prior to her election to the Board, Schrader taught music and chaired the Fine Arts Department until her retirement in 1981. During her teaching tenure, she directed the SFCC Singers, Band, College Choir, and was the director of the annual musical.  Schrader was also an original member of the SFCC Foundation.


Ron Wineinger served as an SFCC Trustee from 2002-2020. Wineinger was a vocal advocate for community colleges at the local, state and national levels and spearheaded efforts to increase advocacy among the Missouri Community College Association trustees and national Association of Community College Trustees (ACCT). Prior to his election, Wineinger taught speech, theatre and communications at SFCC for 25 years and started a student travel program, which allowed over 2,000 students and community members to travel across the world to experience art and theatre. He received numerous honors including the 2001 Hall of Fame and Emeritus Award from the Speech and Theatre Association of Missouri.

The recipients were nominated and reviewed by the current SFCC Board of Trustees at the Oct. 28 meeting. Candidates must have a minimum of 12 years of exemplary service on the SFCC Board of Trustees.


In the photo: SFCC Board of Trustees Emeriti, Robert Farrington, Ron Wineinger, Geraldine Schrader (by Barbara Schrader), Judy Parkhurst, Donald Proctor (by Janet Proctor), Jerry Greer, Gary Noland, Duane Brodersen (by Cynthia Brodersen), Robert Hoskins (by Margaret Ward) and Kenneth Brown (by Nick La Strada). 


More From AM 1050 KSIS