Honors Convocation, a long-held State Fair Community College tradition, recognizes students for distinction in scholarship, leadership and service to the college and for academic achievements and participation in organizations and extracurricular activities.

On May 2 in SFCC’s Thompson Conference Center in the Heckart Science and Allied Health Center on the Sedalia campus, these students received the following awards.

Associate of Arts Distinguished Student—Katelyn Halsey, Odessa

Associate of Applied Science Distinguished Student—Shelbi Huddleston, Smithton

Ambassador of the Year—Elaine Ewigman, Marceline

Access Students of the Year—Billie Pugh, Hughesville; Kathy Moore-Kelly, Sedalia

Dental Hygiene—Nicole Heckman, Jefferson City; Mandi Roberts, Stover; Sandra Arroyo, La Monte; Haylee Thomas, Boonville

Diagnostic Medical Sonography—Michaela Carroll, Urich: Erin Eichholz, Jefferson City

English—Kumiko Mitchell, Whiteman Air Force Base; Justin Gerke, Holts Summit; Carter Phillips, Warsaw

Mathematics—Justin Schroeder, Florence; Elizabeth Matz, Sedalia; Harry Gullette, Sedalia

Missouri Community College Association Student Leadership—Elaine Ewigman, Marceline

Leora Bremer Spirit of Nursing Nursing—Bailey Nickels, Eldon

Cindy Henke Spirit of Nursing Award—Anna Nelson, Blackwater

President’s Scholar—Nisa Adams, Warrensburg; Autumn Clark, Jefferson City; Erin Eichholz, Jefferson City; Elaine Ewigman, Marceline; Gail Gonzalez, Sedalia; Jennifer LaBoube, Hallsville; Savannah Mantonya, Warsaw; Shana Oliver, Macon; Madeline Phillips, Camdenton; Aidan Rottmann, Versailles; Haylee Thomas, Boonville; Nathan Walsh, Smithton

Radiologic Technology—Sarah Loomis, Sedalia

Student Government Association—Ashley Nuci, Sedalia; Elaine Ewigman, Marceline

TRiO Student of the Year—Kathy Moore-Kelly, Sedalia

William C. Hopkins Award for Excellence Scholarship—Maria Lemus, California, Missouri

Young Educator Award—Shana Oliver, Macon

In the photo: State Fair Community College recognized outstanding students on May 2 at the college’s annual Honors Convocation on the Sedalia campus. Shelbi Huddleston (left) of Smithton was named Associate of Applied Science Distinguished Student, and Katelyn Halsey of Odessa was named Associate of Arts Distinguished Student.

More From AM 1050 KSIS