The University of Central Missouri’s Student Government Association will honor Shari Bax, Ph.D., vice president for Student Experience and Engagement, as the 36th recipient of the James C. Kirkpatrick Excellence in Governance Award during a ceremony at 4 p.m. Tuesday, March 23 in the Elliott Student Union Auditorium.

The award was established in 1985 to honor the public service of James C. Kirkpatrick, who served for 20 years as Missouri Secretary of State, and was a longtime member of the university’s governing board. Recognition is given annually to an individual who promotes the public interest, practices good governmental procedures and has shown loyalty to the university.  The recipient is student nominated and selected by members of the SGA. The award is usually annually in March by the SGA.

Bax joined UCM in 1997, and in addition to her administrative title, holds the rank of professor, having devoted many years to teaching political science, and serving students in many different capacities. Her numerous contributions to students, the university, and her public service beyond the institution will be highlighted by SGA members during the awards presentation.

The ceremony is open to the public, although social distancing measures will be required among those who attend.

More From AM 1050 KSIS