The State Fair Community College Athletic Banquet on Thursday night (March 28) officially wrapped up the successful season for the Lady Roadrunners and Roadrunners seasons. State Fair Community College Athletic Director Darren Pannier is proud of the accomplishments that the men and women did in the 2013-2014 season.

The Lady Roadrunners won the NJCAA Region 16 Championship, District K Championship and made the National Tournament in Salina, Kansas. Coach Kevin Bucher highlighted the season by talking about the expectations of the year, and while he was sad from losing in the first round of the National Tournament, he was excited for the job the ladies did all season long. He commended Coach Jordan Greenleaf on her first season with the team and feels it is a great start together.

Individual awards included Apiphany Woods, highest three-point percentage award; Antoinette Taylor, most points per game, highest free throw percentage and highest assists per game awards; Adella Randle-EL, most steals per game award; Alicia Cooley, highest field goal percentage and most rebounds per game; Erin Boothe, best defensive player; Niki House, most improved player; and Mary Sims, the Mia Wesley Award.

The Roadrunners were the Region 16 Champions, District 4 Champion and won in the National Tournament for the first time in over 30 years. Coach Kevin Thomas thanked all the supporters and his Assistant Coach Josh Sash. Thomas was proud of the 16 wins in a row they put together and that several players will be moving on into Division I ranks, such as Joe Thomasson to Wright State and Kedar Edwards to Florida State, while Kevin Punter is being looked at heavily by several colleges, but has yet to commit.

Individual accomplishments included Kevin Punter, most points and highest free throw percentage awards; Joe Thomasson, most assists; Edwards, most rebounds; Dondre Alexander, most three-point shots made; Jean-Louis Wanya, most blocks; and Marcus Mondaine, Roadrunner Basketball Award.

The night also featured recognition for the Spirit Squad, coached by Dana Page and assisted by Jamie Kuse, as well as proclamations from Sedalia Mayor Elaine Horn declaring Friday, March 28 as Roadrunners Day in Sedalia.

The evening culminated with the 2014 Hall of Fame Induction. Sarah Hyslop was the only entry into this year's Hall of Fame. Hyslop, of Denver, Colo., was a member of SFCC’s women’s basketball team during the 2003-2004 season. The Cape Girardeau, Mo., native transferred to SFCC after playing one season at the University of Missouri-St. Louis. Hyslop was the Lady Roadrunners’ second-leading scorer, averaging 14.9 points and 7.2 rebounds a game. Hyslop helped lead her team to a 21-6 record and also earned Academic All-American honors. After graduating from SFCC with a 3.64 GPA and an Associate of Arts degree, Hyslop transferred to the University of Evansville (UE) in Indiana. During her two seasons there, she played 43 games; she averaged 7.6 points and 5.2 rebounds a game as a senior. Hyslop graduated summa cum laude from UE in 2006 with a bachelor’s degree in Movement Science, and in 2009 she received a master’s degree in Physical Therapy from the University of Missouri-Columbia.