Four State Fair Community College nominees received awards Nov. 2-3 at the Missouri Community College Association’s (MCCA) 53nd annual convention in Branson. The nominees were chosen from thousands of peers across Missouri for their outstanding leadership, service and support of SFCC.


• Nancy Theisen, Business Office accounts receivable specialist, received the Senior Service Award. Theisen earned an Associate of Applied Science in Secretarial Science from SFCC and has worked at the college since 1988. She has served on advisement and organizational committees and the Classified Staff Association.

• Ditzfeld Transfer, Inc. received the Award of Distinction for its contributions to the SFCC Foundation for major capital campaigns and athletic scholarships. Since 2006, the company has transported artwork from throughout the United States to the Daum Museum of Contemporary Art for its exhibitions, saving the college a significant amount of money. The Ditzfeld & Weaver Charter Service provides transportation for SFCC’s sports teams.

Brothers Ron and Donnie Ditzfeld are the co-owners of the company, and Ron’s sons, Sam and Steve assist in operations. Ron has served on the SFCC Foundation Board of Directors since 2011 and was instrumental in the startup of the college’s Commercial Driving Academy.

• W-K Chevrolet Buick GMC Cadillac received the Distinguished Business and Industry Award for its financial support to SFCC’s athletic programs through the Booster Club and for their sponsorship of the college’s annual high school basketball showcase, the W-K Holiday Shoot-Out. Walter C. Weymuth and Joseph A. Kreisel started W-K in 1919 that is now owned by Ken Weymuth, his wife Kim and sons Kyle and Kelsey. Kyle is an SFCC alumnus and former Roadrunners basketball player.

• Dr. Kristee Lorenz received the Distinguished Alumni Award for touching lives of thousands of students, mentoring hundreds of teachers and support staff, and inspiring others to become dedicated educators. She graduated from SFCC with an Associate of Arts in 1986 and earned a Bachelor of Science in Education in 1988 from University of Central Missouri (UCM) and a Master of Science in Counseling from UCM in 1994. After teaching and serving as a school counselor, Lorenz earned an Education Specialist in Human Services from UCM in 1999.

She became the assistant principal at Smith-Cotton High School in 2005 and served in that position six years. In 2010, she earned an Education Doctorate in Educational Leadership from St. Louis University. After serving as director of District Education Support for the Sedalia School District 200 and then superintendent of the Knob Noster R-VIII School District. Lorenz is now the superintendent of the Henry County R-I School District in Windsor.

Senator Sandy Crawford, 28th District and Representative David Wood, District 058, who serve counties in SFCC’s service area, received the Distinguished Legislator Award for their efforts on behalf of their constituents and support of community colleges and higher education.

SFCC faculty and staff presented breakout sessions at the conference. Cara Barth-Fagan, Humanities and Social Studies division chair and instructor, co-presented with Central Methodist University staff on “Communiversity: A partnership between SFCC and CMU.” Mark Kelchner, Technical Education and Workforce Innovation dean, presented “Why Lean Sigma in Higher Education.” Darci McFail, Institutional Accreditation and Effectiveness director, presented “The Basics of Lean in Higher Education,” and Lana DeJaynes, Financial Aid and Veteran Services director, presented “Directional Influence.”

MCCA is a statewide organization that provides advocacy, education, information, and networking opportunities for the state’s 5,700 community college faculty, staff, administrators, and trustees. More than 500 people attended this year’s convention.

In the photos: Nancy Theisen (left), State Fair Community College’s Business Office accounts receivable specialist, received the Missouri Community College Association (MCCA) Senior Service Award. Dr. Joanna Anderson, SFCC’s president, attended the presentation.


Ditzfeld Transfer, Inc. received the MCCA Award of Distinction. Ron Ditzfeld (left), received the award. Dr. Joanna Anderson, SFCC’s president, attended the presentation.


W-K Chevrolet Buick GMC Cadillac received the MCCA Distinguished Business and Industry Award. Receiving the award are (from left), Ken and Kim Weymuth and Kyle Weymuth. Dr. Joanna Anderson, SFCC’s president, attended the presentation.


Dr. Kristee Lorenz (right), Henry County R-1 School District superintendent, received the MCCA Distinguished Alumni Award. Dr. Joanna Anderson, SFCC’s president, attended the presentation.


Senator Sandy Crawford (left), 28th District, received the MCCA Distinguished Legislator Award. Dr. Joanna Anderson, SFCC’s president, attended the presentation.


Representative David Wood (left), District 058, received the MCCA Distinguished Legislator Award. Dr. Joanna Anderson, SFCC’s president attended the presentation.

More From AM 1050 KSIS