Sedalia School District 200 Board President Dr. Jeffrey Sharp, right, presents certificates to Skyline Elementary School Principal Kelly McFatrich, left, and Heber Hunt Elementary Principal Brett Hieronymus in honor of their schools being ranked in the top 5 percent of Title I schools in the state of Missouri.

The designation recognizes growth in academic achievement, academic progress, English language acquisition and attendance. Title I is a federal program to improve academic achievement for at-risk children.

Assistant Superintendent Dr. Nancy Scott said: “These awards are clear indications that our district's commitment to Title I programs is valid. We are working daily to ensure we are closing students' learning gaps to help them be as successful as possible.”

More From AM 1050 KSIS