COLUMBIA, Mo. — The University of Missouri School of Medicine presented its most prestigious awards to graduates and supporters April 16 in Kansas City. The award recipients were honored during a reception and dinner at the Kansas City Club in conjunction with the Missouri State Medical Association’s annual conference.

     The School of Medicine’s highest honor — the Citation of Merit — was awarded to Syed Arshad Husain, professor emeritus of psychiatry and child health and a 1970 fellowship graduate of MU’s psychiatry department. Husain is internationally known for helping traumatized children in war zones and disaster areas across the globe.
The Outstanding Young Physician Award is presented to distinguished alumni age 45 or younger. This year’s recipients were Noah Hillman, associate professor of pediatrics in the Division of Neonatology at Saint Louis University and Todd Schwedt, associate professor of neurology at the Mayo Clinic in Phoenix. Hillman and Schwedt are both graduates of MU School of Medicine class of 2001.
Alumni who have distinguished themselves through community service are recognized with the Distinguished Service Award. This year’s recipients were Samuel Cullison, Tammy Hart and Bert Park. Cullison is vice president of graduate medical education at Methodist Health System of Dallas and a graduate of the 1975 class. Hart, a 1990 graduate, is a family medicine physician in Princeton, Missouri. Park, a graduate of the Class of 1973, is a retired surgeon who leads neurosurgery mission trips in Africa.
Awarded to non-alumni, the Honorary Medical Alumni Award is given to supporters who have made special contributions to MU’s School of Medicine. This year two outstanding MU faculty members were recognized.
Virginia Huxley is the J.O. Davis Professor of Cardiovascular Physiology and professor of medical pharmacology and physiology at MU’s School of Medicine, as well as director of the National Center for Gender Physiology.
Ramesh Khanna is vice chair of the Department of Medicine and Karl D. Nolph Distinguished Chair in Nephrology at the MU School of Medicine, as well as medical director of MU’s Acute Dialysis Unit.
Alumni are encouraged to contact the alumni office at (573) 882-5021 or to make nominations for the 59th annual alumni medical awards to be presented in 2016.
(Courtesy of MU News)