Senior Elias Washington received multiple honors on both sides of the ball during the Smith-Cotton High football program’s awards night presentation.

Washington received the Charles Van Dyne Memorial Award, denoting the team’s outstanding lineman, and made the Central Missouri Activities Conference second team on both the offensive and defensive lines. He also was first team All-District on the offensive line. Washington and fellow senior Kole Scott received the Caleb Stathem Memorial Scholarship, awarded by the family of a former S-C player who died from injuries in a car wreck.

The team had 25 members earn varsity letters and 22 achieve Tiger Scholars designation for having a grade-point average of at least 3.0.

The award winners:

William “Bill” Noland Football Scholarship: Braxton Houchens

Charles Van Dyne Memorial Award: Elias Washington

Ralph “Stub” Dow Award: Connor Ladd

Caleb Stathem Memorial Scholarship: Elias Washington and Kole Scott

Scout Team Player of the Year: Brayden Butts

Special Teams Player of the Year: Sam Cash

Offensive Player of the Year: Jaren Washington

Defensive Player of the Year: Everett Wood

Academic All-State: Isaiah Acosta, Sam Cash, Mylan Hawkins, Karson Evans, Lane Simmons, Cody Smith

KMZU Dream Team: Elias Washington, offensive line; Everett Wood, linebacker

Central Missouri Activities All-Conference: Elias Washington, offensive and defensive line; Kwan Watkins, defensive line

All-District, First Team: Sam Cash, kicker; Elias Washington, offensive line; Everett Wood, linebacker; Kwan Watkins, defensive line

All-District, Second Team: Jaren Washington, wide receiver; Braxton Houchens, linebacker; Connor Ladd, defensive back

In the photo:
Smith-Cotton senior defensive lineman Elias Washington waits for Moberly's offense to break its huddle during the Tigers’ 32-12 win Aug. 27 at Moberly. Washington was awarded the Charles Van Dyne Memorial Award, given annually to the S-C’s outstanding lineman.

More From AM 1050 KSIS