The Smith-Cotton High School chapter of the National Honor Society welcomed 35 new
members during an induction ceremony Thursday, March 9, in the Heckart Performing
Arts Center.

The event included the change of chapter officers and student leadership of the
Community Café; and the annual awarding of honorary NHS membership to a member of the S-C High faculty. Chapter President Jones Knight announced that teacher Michael Wright was selected for honorary membership.

This year’s inductees: Dominick Domingue, Thomas Gardner, Emma Garrigus, Findlay Hume, Kendall Jackson, Jenesis May, Fernanda Nandho, Rylie Nations, Kaitlin Norman, Jacob Phillips, Brooklyn Taylor, Lydia Tester, Tayadora Villalobos, Lennon Adams, Zachariah Bogart, Emma Brosch, Parker Brown, Sally Davis, Kristina Dmitruk, Allyson Garrett, Jeffthan Glaster, Emilia Hofstetter, Eleanor Holiway, Valeria Juan, Masyn Kruse, Madalyne Lee, Addison Lyles, Juan Matacua Ubaldo, Madison Medlock, Bryson Middleton, Natali Newkirk, Josie Peck, Miley Rathmann, Bailee Spencer and Olivia Venable.

New officers for the 2023-24 school year: Kate Ellison, president; Parker Ellison, vice
president; Anna Goodrich, secretary; Draiven Short, treasurer; and Dakota Acosta,

Current Community Café Student Director Bailey N. Brown “passed the spoon” to new
director Dakota Acosta.

In the photo: New Smith-Cotton National Honor Society officers take the oath of office during the chapter’s induction ceremony Thursday, March 9, in the Heckart Performing Arts Center. The officers, from left: Dakota Acosta, historian; Draiven Short, treasurer; Anna Goodrich, secretary; Parker Ellison, vice president; and Kate Ellison, president.

More From AM 1050 KSIS