State Fair Community College student-athletes, family, friends, and fans gathered for the 2017-2018 Roadrunners All-Sports Athletic Awards night May 15 in the Fred E. Davis Multipurpose Center on the Sedalia campus.

Sedalia native and Pittsburg State University’s Head Men’s Basketball Coach Kim Anderson spoke at the event. Anderson gave student-athletes tips on how to move to the next level in their academic and athletic careers. He reminded them that someone is always watching and shared qualities and characteristics that coaches, regardless of the sport, look for in prospective student-athletes during the recruiting process.

SFCC Head Men and Women’s Soccer Coach Jaime Beltran began the awards portion of the evening by recognizing the women’s team. Beltran spoke about Lady Roadrunners’ season highlights and presented three awards. Sophomore Tiffany Wehmeyer received the Offensive Most Valuable Player (MVP) Award. Freshman Kiara Williams received the Defensive MVP Award, and freshman Shelby Bain received the Unsung Hero Award. Sedalia is the hometown for all three players.

Beltran then shared men’s soccer highlights and presented sophomore Mako Makoanyane of Lesotho, Africa, the Offensive MVP Award. Freshman Nathan Hess of Columbia received the Defensive MVP Award, and sophomore Jacob Bolger of Kansas City received the Unsung Hero Award.

After sharing Lady Roadrunners’ basketball highlights, Head Coach Kevin Bucher presented sophomore Maya Brewer of North Kansas City the Leading Scorer Award; she averaged 14.6 points per game this past season. Sophomore guard/forward Catie Kaifes of Shawnee, Kansas, earned the Leading Rebounder Award with 7.6 per game. Sophomore Ren'Cia Rolling of Chicago, Illinois, earned the Most Steals Award with 2.7 per game. She led the nation in assists per game with 8.6 and currently holds the record at SFCC for assists per game based on available data. Rolling also earned the Mia Wesley Award, the most prestigious award given to a Lady Roadrunners basketball player.

Roadrunners Basketball Head Coach Matt Brown gave a brief overview of the men’s season and then presented awards. Freshman Tyreek Scott-Grayson of Severn, Maryland, received the Leading Scorer Award averaging 13.6 points per game. Freshman guard/forward LePear Toles of Canton, Ohio, earned the Leading Rebounder Award, pulling down 6.1 per game. Sophomore Andre (A.J.) Walker of Kansas City earned the Most Assists Award averaging 7.0 per game, which gives him the highest single-season assist per game total in school history based on available data. He also earned the Most Steals Award averaging 2.3 per game.

Sophomore Derrick Brock, Jr. of Leesville, Louisiana, was honored with the Marcus Mondaine Award that is given to a player who exemplifies teamwork and toughness as well as spirit. Mondaine of Kansas City played for the Roadrunners from 2012-2014. He graduated in 2014 and continued his academic and athletic career at the University of Saint Mary in Leavenworth, Kansas. Mondaine died Oct. 1, 2016; he was 23.

Spirit Squad Head Coach Dana Page reviewed cheer and dance team highlights and presented freshman Madison Wood of Knob Noster the Rookie Cheer Award. Freshman Brittney Housley of Rogersville received the Rookie Dance Award, and FreshmanSarah Casey of Wardsville received the Most Improved Award. Sophomore Macie Yearout of Lincoln received the Roadrunner Award, and freshman Abigail Stahlke of Hager City, Wisconsin, received the All-Around Cheer Athlete Award.

Lady Roadrunners Softball Head Coach Lyndsey Talbot recapped her team’s second season. Sophomore MacKenze Guddeof Cole Camp earned the Offensive MVP Award. Sophomore Mikayla Gustin of Raytown earned the Gold Glove Award. SophomoresEmily Guyton of Martinsburg and Makayla Sivils of Warrensburg shared the Hype-Man Award. Freshmen Jacki Watson of Raytown and Madison Love of Holts Summit received Quality At-Bat Awards. Love also received the GRIT Award, which stands for growth, response, intent, and team first.

Roadrunners Baseball Head Coach Jud Kindle spoke about the highlights of his team’s just completed season. He presented to sophomore Tyler Crane of Pleasant Hall the MVP Award and to sophomore Jake McMahill of Blue Springs the Pitcher of the Year Award. Kyle Clark of Grain Valley received Freshman of the Year Award, and Jacob Mitchell of Mountain Grove received the Alpha Award, which recognizes a player who sets a positive example for teammates and displays leadership qualities.

SFCC President Dr. Joanna Anderson and Vice President for Educational and Support Services Dr. Brent Bates presented academic awards to 50 student-athletes. To be eligible to receive this award, the student-athlete must have earned a 3.0 grade point average or above.

Athletic Director Darren Pannier closed the evening by urging the student-athletes to use the summer to improve academically and athletically. He also encouraged the rising sophomores to be a positive example for incoming freshmen.

David Rohrbach, SFCC Athletics

Randy Kirby
Randy Kirby

More From AM 1050 KSIS