Republicans in Johnson County claimed several wins in the 2018 mid-term election.

Johnson County clerk Diane Norcross Thompson said there was over 53% voter turnout in the county. She noted the turnout number was a little lower than expected, saying "We were expecting 55% - 57%, but we're happy with the results." She added the turnout was still 10% higher than the last mid-term election in 2014.

A total of 17,285 ballots were cast.

In the race for U.S. Senator, voters in Johnson County chose Republican Josh Hawley over Democrat Clair McCaskill with approximately 59% - 37%.

U.S. representative incumbent Vicky Hartzler won in Johnson County over Democratic challenger Renee Hoagenson, 64% - 33%.

Voters decided on Republican Saundra McDowell over Democrat Nicole Galloway in the state auditor contest.

State representative for District 51 saw Dean A. Dohrman beating Vince Lutterbie. Dohrman received 64% of the vote in Johnson County.

State representative candidate for District 52, Bradley Pollitt beat Dan Marshall. District 52 encompasses a small portion of eastern Knob Noster, but falls mostly in the Pettis County area.

State representative for District 54 saw Dan Houx winning over James L. Williams in Johnson County.

All other county positions that won were unopposed. They include:

- William Collins for Circuit 17 judge

- Brent Teichman for Associate Circuit judge

- Sue Dodson for Associate Circuit judge

- William H. Gabel for Presiding Commissioner

- Diane Norcross Thompson for County Clerk

- Stephanie Elkins for Circuit Clerk

- Stormy Taylor for Recorder of Deeds

- Rob Russell for Prosecuting Attorney

- Chad Davis for County Auditor

- Ruthane Small for Collector of Revenue

Constitutional Amendment 1, which is a Lobbying, Campaign Finance, and Redistricting Initiative was favored in Johnson County with 58% voting yes and 42% voting no.

Johnson County voters favored Constitutional Amendment 2 relating to legalizing marijuana for certain medicinal purposes, with over 64% voting yes.

Constitutional Amendment 3 (also related to medicinal marijuana) was defeated with nearly 70% of residents voting no.

Constitutional Amendment 4, relating to removing language which would limit Bingo advertising, was approved with 55% of the vote.

Proposition B, which would increase the minimum wage in Missouri, was approved by Johnson County voters by 57% to 43%.

Proposition C, also related to marijuana, was defeated 58% - 42%.

Proposition D, which deals with a motor fuel tax increase, was narrowly defeated 51% - 49%.

Voters rejected a property tax increase that would affect Johnson County Fire District No. 2, by 51% - 49%.

Diane Thompson noted that a total of 1,542 absentee ballots were cast for the mid-term elections.

Johnson County Courthouse
Kurt Parsons

More From AM 1050 KSIS