Seniors Gauge Young and Zach Powell led the post-season honors at the Smith-Cotton football program’s annual end-of-season banquet on Monday, Dec. 4, in the high school cafeteria.

Sedalia School District 200
Sedalia School District 200

Young, a senior running back, was named the team’s Offensive Player of the Year and received the Ralph “Stub” Dow Award as the outstanding back. He rushed for 1,180 yards, caught 26 passes for 328 yards and scored 19 touchdowns on the season.

Powell was recognized as an All-State selection as a kick returner, was named the team’s Special Teams Player of the Year and was picked for the KMZU Dream Team. The senior slot back rushed for 420 yards, caught 20 passes for 344 yards and racked up 769 yards on kickoff and punt returns, averaging 49.5 yards per kickoff return and 17.1 yards per punt. He scored 15 touchdowns total, six on kick and punt returns.

Senior linebacker Brice Pannier was the Defensive Player of the Year. He led the team with 102 total tackles, adding an interception, a fumble recovery and a blocked punt.

Senior defensive lineman Dominic Ladd received the William “Bill” Noland Football Scholarship. Senior offensive guard Terrence Callaway won the Charles Van Dyne Memorial Award, given to the outstanding lineman. Senior A.J. Wilkinson is the 2017 recipient of the Mark Johnson Academic Achievement Scholarship. Scout Team Players of the Year were Brett Grupe and Gavin Wolfe.

Joining Wilkinson on the Academic All-State Team were Powell, Grupe, Elijah Choate, Kyler Simoncic and Dylan Wissman.

Senior linebacker Tyshawn Ward also was named to the KMZU Dream Team, as well as being an All-District First Team selection along with Young, Powell and Pannier. All-District Second Team honors went to Callaway, Ladd and senior tight end Korbin Scott.

All-West Central Conference selections on offense were Young, running back; Callaway, guard; Powell, special teams; Scott, tight end; Jaden Kendrick, quarterback; Calvin Pritchard, center; and Crymson Couch, tackle. Defensive picks were Pannier and Ward, both at linebacker; Ladd, defensive line; Choate, cornerback; Simoncic, safety; Zach Gwaltney, defensive line; and Nate McFail, safety. Honorable mention went to Brandon Neale, running back; and Brody Kindle, linebacker.

In the photo: The Smith-Cotton Tigers football program had six players earn Academic All-State status this season, and all were recognized at the team's banquet on Dec. 4. From left, Kyler Simoncic, A.J. Wilkinson, Elijah Choate, Dylan Wissman, Zach Powell and Brett Grupe. All were starters for the Tigers, who finished the season 9-1 and were West Central Conference champions.

More From AM 1050 KSIS